The Institute of New Testament Studies is split into two departments with different research emphases.

Department 1: New Testament and History of Ancient Religion

  • History of Religions and Philosophy during the early Roman Imperial period, especially religious Platonism (Plutarch, Philo, Clement of Alexandria)
  • Johannine and Pauline Theology and Ethics
  • Forms and Hermeneutics of pictorial Language
  • New Testament Lexicography

Department 2: New Testament Literature and Theology

  • Theology of Paul the Apostle
  • Belief and Doubt as Theological and Identity Theory Topics
  • The Urban Character of early Christian Groups
  • Cultural Encounters and Identity Discourse in Early Christianity
  • Theological and Social Innovation in the Jesus Movement
  • The Reception and Developmental History of the New Testament Texts